webinar register page

Webinar banner
Webinar: Directed Evolution of Genome Assemblies – and Why it is Important
Speaker: Harris Lewin, UC Davis, Chair: Earth BioGenome Project
Time: Tuesday, June 9th @ 8am PST | 11am EST | 4pm BST

How can genomes be assembled to the highest quality and contiguity at the lowest cost in an ever-changing scientific environment? My story will trace the directed evolution of 28 genome assemblies of the Narwhal, an iconic cetacean known at the “unicorn of the sea” because of its long tooth tusk. While understanding the evolution and amazing phenotypes of the Narwhal is our ultimate goal, the evolution of genome assemblies from short-read to long read-based assemblies with Dovetail scaffolding has been an interesting scientific journey in itself. Different sequencing approaches will be discussed in the light of genome assembly evolution, and their importance for understanding genome biology.

Jun 9, 2020 08:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Mark Daly.